• FI
  • SV
  • See tips for new summer releases

    13.06.2024 Mervi Vuorela
    Gramex has put together a summer release tips pack with something for every genre of music lover.

    Summer is a notoriously quiet time on the record release front, but not all labels take a break. 

    Last week, for example, saw the release of stadium rock band Bon Jovi’s 16th album Forever, electro-popper Charli XCX’s sixth album Brat and blues artist Seasick Steve’s 13th album A Trip a Stumble a Fall Down on Your Knees.

    Among the local artists and bands, new music was released by cello-metal band Apocalyptica (Plays Metallica Vol. 2), singer-songwriter-guitarist Mara Balls (Virtaa) and Jaakko Kulta (Jotta muistaisin), one of this year’s breakthrough artists.

    In mid-June, the most streamed Mexican artist of the moment, Peso Pluma (Éxodo), experimental pioneer John Cale (POPtical Illusion), stoner rock band Fu Manchu (The Return of Tomorrow), indie rock quintet The Decemberists (As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again) and Kivesveto Go-Go (Tuomiopäivä) will release a new album.

    The end of June will see the release of albums such as Megan Thee Stallion’s third album Megan, Canadian speed metal pioneers Anvil’s 20th album One and Only, country great Johnny Cash’s posthumous Songwriter, pop star Camila Cabello’s fourth album C,XOXO, alternative rock band Imagine Dragons’ seventh album Loom and Early Daze, a collection of rarities and unreleased studio recordings by folk rockers Neil Young and Crazy Horse.

    In mid-July, fans of edgier fringe music will be able to hear the collaborative album Tomutonttu and Lehtisalo by Jussi Lehtisalo of Circle fame and Jan Anderzén of Kemialliset Ystävät, among others.

    Other new releases in July include the third album X’s by dreampop band Cigarettes After Sex, the twenty-third album =1 by heavy rock pioneers Deep Purple and the fourth album Ask That God by Australian electro group Empire of the Sun.

    One of the most anticipated releases of August is the eighteenth album Wild God by experimental rock masters Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. The end of the summer will also see the release of Cellophane Memories, a joint album by Chrystabell and David Lynch, better known as film director, Another Day, the seventh album by post-hardcore band Fucked Up, and the thirteenth album by melodic death metal band Dark Tranquillity, Endtime Signals.